Old News, Good Comment

I often find myself wondering if I really read what I just read in commentary on what’s to happen to the news industry, the media industry, the advertising industry. So I delight when finding something I agree with, even if it is six months since posting. In his review of Google’s flirtations with newspapers and the offline movement of digital advertising, Richard Waters of the Financial Times’ ft.com summed up the central task:

“…Assembling a large body of like-minded consumers will involve tapping into a variety of small-scale markets.”

This is particularly true in local markets. We all hop from our positions in one small-scale market to another at our own whim, entwined with a corresponding variety of like-minded folks. I don’t think it is any more difficult than that, is it?

For the full context, check out Waters’ ft.com story:

http://www.ft.com/cms/s/4e057d1e-eac2-11da-9566-0000779e2340.html

Filed under: Advertising, News Industry

Leave a comment